Call 0161 423 4208

SHOT Steering Group

SHOT Steering Group

The Steering Group (SG) provides professional ownership and strategic direction, monitors the performance of SHOT and is accountable to the UK Forum through the Medical Director for the use of resources and management of the budget. Membership of the Steering Group will consist of nominated representatives of the Royal Colleges and other professional bodies. The Steering Group will always include the Medical Director, National Co-ordinator for Transfusion Transmitted Infections, the Operations Manager, and a representative from each of the following: Health Protection Agency, a Consultant specialist in Transfusion Microbiology, BCSH Transfusion Task Force, the CMO’s National Blood Transfusion Committee (NBTC), and the UK Blood Transfusion Forum.

The SG will  be responsible for:

  • Formulating the recommendations based on SHOT findings and ensuring that these are endorsed and disseminated via professional bodies
  • Promoting and supporting SHOT recommendations and activities through their professional networks
  • Ensuring the integrity and confidentiality of the data
  • Monitoring and encouraging participation in UK haemovigilance

Steering Group members

SHOT Steering Group Chair

Dr Dafydd Thomas
Consultant intensivist

Representatives of Professional Bodies

British Blood Transfusion Society

Mrs Clare Milkins
UK NEQAS Scheme Manager

British Committee for Standards in Haematology

Dr Shubha Allard
Consultant Haematologist

British Society of Gastroenterlogy

Dr Andrew V. Thillainayagam
Consultant Gastroenterologist

British Society for Haematology

Dr Charles Percy
Consultant in Haematology

Public Health England & Faculty of Public Health

Dr Su Brailsford
Consultant in Epidemiology and Health Protection

Institute of Biomedical Science

Ms Pamela Diamond
Head of Quality Assurance & Regulatory Compliance WBS

NHS Confederation

National Blood Transfusion Committee (NBTC)


Royal College of Anaesthetists

Dr Krish Ramachandran
Consultant Anaesthetist

Royal College of Nursing

Ms Anna Crossley
Professional Lead for Acute, Emergency and Critical Care

Royal College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists

Ms Bhavna Sharma
Consultant Obstetrician & Gynaecologist

Royal College of Midwives

Ms Mervi Jokinen
Clinical Lead Midwifery

Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health

Dr Ruth Gottstein
Consultant Neonatologist & Senior Lecturer of the University of East Anglia

Royal College of Pathologists

Dr Kieran Morris
Chief Executive Officer NIBTS
Consultant Haematologist

Royal College of Physicians


Royal College of Surgeons

Mr John Thompson
Consultant Surgeon

The College of Emergency Medicine

Dr Ranga Mothukuri
Consultant, Emergency Medicine and Intensive Care Medicine

The Intensive Care Society

Dr Ganesh Suntharalingam
Consultant, Intensive Care Medicine Anaesthesia


Mrs Clare Milkins
UK NEQAS Blood Transfusion Laboratory Practice Scheme Manager

Trainee Representative for British Blood Transfusion Society

Dr Edward Norris-Cervetto

SHOT National Coordinator for Infectious Hazards

Ms Rachael Morrison
NHSBT / PHE Epidemiology

Consultant in Transfusion Medicine/Clinical Transfusion Microbiology, NHSBT

Dr Patricia Hewitt

Defence Medical Services

Dr Heidi Doughty

Scottish Clinical Transfusion Advisory Committee

Anne Morrison

UK Transfusion Laboratory Collaborative

Rashmi Rook

UK Forum

Dr Sheila MacLennan
Dr Stephen Field

Expertise in Patient Safety

Ms Nina Vinall

Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

Mr Chris Robbie

Lay Member

Graham Donald

Honorary Steering Group Members

Dr Hannah Cohen – Founder member and former SHOT Steering Group Chair
Dr Lorna Williamson – Founder member
Dr John Barbara – Founder member
Dr Sue Knowles -Former Interim Medical Director of SHOT
Dr Elizabeth Love – Former National Medical Coordinator of SHOT
Prof John S P Lumley – Founder member
Dr Brian McClelland – Founder member
Dr Derek Norfolk – Founder member
Dr Dorothy Stainsby – Former National Medical Coordinator of SHOT
Dr Clare Taylor – Former SHOT Medical Director