Call 0161 423 4208

SHOT Steering Group

SHOT Steering Group

The Steering Group (SG) provides professional ownership and strategic direction, monitors the performance of SHOT and is accountable to the UK Forum through the Medical Director for the use of resources and management of the budget. Membership of the Steering Group will consist of nominated representatives of the Royal Colleges and other professional bodies. The Steering Group will always include the Medical Director, National Co-ordinator for Transfusion Transmitted Infections, the Operations Manager, and a representative from each of the following: Public Health England, a Consultant specialist in Transfusion Microbiology, BCSH Transfusion Task Force, the CMO’s National Blood Transfusion Committee (NBTC), and the UK Blood Transfusion Forum.

The SG will  be responsible for:

  • Formulating the recommendations based on SHOT findings and ensuring that these are endorsed and disseminated via professional bodies
  • Promoting and supporting SHOT recommendations and activities through their professional networks
  • Ensuring the integrity and confidentiality of the data
  • Monitoring and encouraging participation in UK haemovigilance

Steering Group members

SHOT Steering Group Chair

Professor Mark Bellamy
Consultant in Intensive Care, Leeds Teaching Hospitals & Professor of Critical Care, University of Leeds Intensive Care Unit, St James’s University Hospital

Representatives of Professional Bodies

British Blood Transfusion Society

Dr Heidi Doughty, BBTS President


British Society for Haematology 

Dr Sue Robinson
Consultant Haematologist


British Society of Gastroenterology



Defence Medical Services

Dr Lucinda Blake
Haematology Consultant


Expert in Patient Safety

Nina Vinall


Institute of Biomedical Science

Anne Lockhart
IBMS Fellow, Senior Biomedical Scientist Professional Manager, Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service


Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine

Dr Pete Hersey, FICM Safety Lead


Joint Professional Advisory Committee

Dr Stephen Thomas, JPAC Director


Lay Member

Graham Donald


Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

Mr Chris Robbie
MHRA Haemovigilance Specialist


National Blood Transfusion Committee

Dr Shubha Allard
NBTC Secretary


Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service

Professor Andrea Piccin


UK Health Security AgencyFaculty of Public Health

Dr Su Brailsford
Consultant in Epidemiology and Health Protection


Royal College of Anaesthetists

Dr Caroline Evans
Consultant Cardiothoracic Anaesthetist


Royal College of Midwives

Mervi Jokinen
Practice and Standards Professional Advisor, The Royal College of Midwives
President European Midwives Association (EMA)
Vice Chair European Forum for National Nursing and Midwifery Associations (EFNNMA)


Royal College of Nursing

Ruth Burey
Professional Lead, Learning & Development. RCN Nursing Practice and Policy Directorate.
RCN Eastern Region and RCN West Midlands Region.


Royal College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists

Dr Felicity Plaat
Consultant Obstetrician & Gynaecologist


Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health

Dr Ruth Gottstein
Consultant Neonatologist


Royal College of Pathologists

Dr Shubha Allard
Deputy Chair, Transfusion Medicine Specialty Advisory Committee


Royal College of Physicians

Dr James Reid


Royal College of Surgeons



Scottish National Blood Transfusion Committee

Dr Lynne Anderson
Chair, SNBTC


SHOT National Co-ordinator for Infectious Diseases

Chloe Davison
NHSBT/UKHSA Epidemiology Unit


The Royal College of Emergency Medicine

Dr Ranga Mothukuri
Consultant, Emergency Medicine and Intensive Care Medicine


UK Forum

Dr Gail Miflin
Medical and Research Director, NHS Blood and Transplant



Katy Veale
Operations Manager, UK NEQAS BTLP


UK Transfusion Laboratory Collaborative

Kerry Dowling
Chair, UKTLC


Welsh Blood Service

Dr Janet Birchall
Medical Director, Welsh Blood Service


Honorary Steering Group Members

Dr Hannah Cohen – Founder member and former SHOT Steering Group Chair
Dr Lorna Williamson – Founder member
Dr John Barbara – Founder member
Dr Sue Knowles -Former Interim Medical Director of SHOT
Dr Elizabeth Love – Former National Medical Coordinator of SHOT
Prof John S P Lumley – Founder member
Dr Brian McClelland – Founder member
Dr Derek Norfolk – Founder member
Dr Dorothy Stainsby – Former National Medical Coordinator of SHOT
Dr Clare Taylor – Former SHOT Medical Director